Tron – Light Cycle Racing

So I am only a month into 2011 and I am deviating from my project plans.  Inspiration struck and I decided to add a Tron Light Cycle racing game to the list.  So far I have acquired a nice selection of diecast cycles from the new Tron: Legacy movie.  Pictured below.

I also acquired a set of rules called Light Bikes from Glory Games, the creators of Speed Rally.  The rules are fairly straight forward and conjure up the light cycle races from the original Tron movie where all the bikes had to make right angle turns.  The rules also include suggestions for making a game grid and light walls.  I followed the directions in the rules and used foamcore to cut out 1″ strips of wall in various lengths.  I have a picture below of the classic Tron light cycles and light walls laid out on my cutting mat.  The mat has a nice 1″ grid similar to what I will use as a game grid.  If the game turns out to be alot of fun I may look into upgrading from foamcore to another material.

Just for fun I laid out some bikes and walls to illustrate how a game of Light Bikes might look.  I think this will turn out to be a lot of fun and I am looking forward to finishing the grid and playing a few games.  The game should look something like this…

I will post more once I have completed the game grid.  I have some black poster board, now all I need is a decent blue art pencil and I should be good to go.  More to follow…

~ by Captain Apathy on February 5, 2011.

5 Responses to “Tron – Light Cycle Racing”

  1. Great idea and original which is always good to see. Whereabouts are you and how much did the diecast toys cost you? In the UK via ebay they’re around $30 a piece… pricey!

  2. Thank you. I can’t claim complete credit for the idea. It turns out Glory Games was thinking along the same lines as I was.

    I am in the US and the Tron diecast vehicles were acquired from local department stores for approximately $4 each.

  3. Hey Capt. — wanted to thank for returning the inspiration. I’ve been thinking of updating my official game site, and seeing the simple, smart look of this blog finally pushed me to do it. (A web designer friend has been pushing me to switch to WordPress anyway, so he was happy as well.)

    Anyway, the site launched today at http://speedrally.net/

    Best,
    +Jape

  4. Thank you for the kind words. I am glad my simple blog was inspirational for you. I have mostly used it to help keep track of my projects, so I am glad you enjoyed it too. Keep up the good work with Speed Rally. Cheers.

  5. Correction — wanted to thank *you* for returning the inspiration. And thanks for the thank you.

    Thank you

    +Jape

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

