Miniatures Projects for 2010

I decided to follow the lead of Paul Ward of Matakishi’s Teahouse and keep a log of my wargaming projects.  I probably have more ideas than I will be able to accomplish but I will list them anyway.  Here is what I have so far…

Fallout/Wasteland (Post Apocalyptic America) – I plan to combine elements from my two favorite video games Wasteland, by Interplay and Electronic Arts, and the Fallout Series, by Black Isle and Bethesda, into a common Post Apocalyptic setting for 28mm skirmishes.

STALKER (Post Apocalyptic Russia) – Similar to the Fallout/Wasteland project above except this project will be based on the quirky video game S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, by GSC Game World, the movie Stalker, by Andrei Tarkovsky, and the short story that inspired them both Roadside Picnic, by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky.  While I anticipate there will be a lot of crossover between these first two projects, it gives me a reason to acquire modern Russian miniatures and vehicles.

Modern Skirmish (Modern Conflicts and Counter Insurgency) – 28mm wargaming to support my current fixation with Ambush Alley and Force on Force, from Ambush Alley Games.

Zombies (All Things Dead and Rotten) – Zombies, Zombies, Zombies.  This is a great catch all for most any modern urban skirmish games, and will include miniatures, vehicles, terrain, scenarios and whatever else I can fit in here.  It will also include my current fascination with the Left 4 Dead series of video games.

Geezers! Shut it! (70’s Cops and Robbers) – A fantastic game of Cops and Robbers in 28mm from Killer B Games.  The skirmish rules were developed based the the 70’s British television police drama The Sweeney, and include rules for Briefs, Court, Car Chases, Police Interviews and post combat experience.  It also has a nifty glossary of Cockney rhyming slang so you will know your  ‘apples and pears’ from your ‘plates of meat’.

Battle Machines (Diecast Car Wars) – These amazing looking 1:64+ scale diecast cars from Jada demand their own game.  Hopefully I can come up with some suitable.

Some previous and back burner that I may dink with if my attention span wanders…

Doctor Who (Science Fiction Classic)

Necromunda (Futuristic Gang Warfare)

Vor (Science Fiction Skirmish)

Stargate SGC (Science Fiction Skirimish)

~ by Captain Apathy on November 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Miniatures Projects for 2010”

  1. Impressive list 🙂
    I find planning is a big part of the fun.

  2. I agree. The planning is a lot of fun.

    To be honest, most of the projects listed above have already been started to one degree or another. My hope was I would get motivated to finish them if I started posting my progress. : )

Leave a Reply

 
