Miniatures Projects for 2011

It is a new year and time for a new set of projects.  Last year I was a little overly ambitious.  This year I plan to be a little more conservative.  Also, I hope to get in more gaming than last year.  So, for 2011 I plan to separate my goals into two different categories, Projects and Games.  Projects will be miniatures projects along the same lines as last year.  Games on the other hand will be my attempt to play games, specifically using new rules, or rule that are new to me.  I made better than expected progress with my miniatures projects in 2010.  So I plan to capitalize on my progress and put my nifty toys to good use by actually playing some games with them.  I also hope to capture an After Action Reviews (AAR) for each game with pictures and some additional commentary.

PROJECTS

STALKER (Post Apocalyptic Russia) – Lets see if I can make any progress on this one.  It will be similar to the Fallout/Wasteland project with the major exception being the source material.  This project is based on the quirky video game S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, by GSC Game World, the movie Stalker, by Andrei Tarkovsky, and the short story that inspired them both Roadside Picnic, by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky.  There is also a series of novels and a video game that is very similar in style called Metro 2033, from THQ.  I will borrow from these as well.

Modern Skirmish (Modern Conflicts and Counter Insurgency) – I need to finish painting my buildings and take pictures.  I also would like to add a few more factions such as:

Zombies (All Things Dead and Rotten) – Zombies, Zombies, Zombies.  I have a few factions to add to this project as well.  Plus I am thinking about making survivors and special zombies similar to the fantastic video game Left 4 Dead, from Valve.

Geezers! Shut it! (70′s Cops and Robbers) – This one is being rolled over from 2010 as I didn’t make any progress.

Battle Machines (Die-cast Car Wars) – I am still in the “gathering ingredients” phase for this project.  More later.

GAMES

There are several new rule sets I am excited to try, as well as a few old favorites.  Here is the list so far, in no particular order:

Atomic Cafe 1957 (new) – Brigade Games – Fallout

Mutants and Death Ray Guns (new) – Ganesha Games – Fallout

FUBAR (new) – Gawd ‘elp us Games – Fallout and Stargate SG-1

No More Room in Hell (new) – Iron Ivan Games – Zombies

Total AR:SE (new) – Akula’s Rules: Skirmish Edition – Zombies

Geezers!  Shut It! (new) – Killer B Games – Geezers

Ambush ZAmbush Alley Games – Zombies

Ambush Alley, Force on Force (new), Tomorrow’s War (new) – Ambush Alley Games – Modern Skirmish and Fallout

Scudbusters II (new) – Wessex Games – Modern Skirmish and Stargate SG-1

Doctor Who Miniatures GameCrooked Dice Games Design Studio – Doctor Who

TV7 (new) – Crooked Dice Games Design Studio – Generic Sci-Fi and Stargate SG-1

Doctor Who: Invasion EarthBlack Tree Design – Doctor Who

So that’s it for now.  I am sure I will think of more project ideas as the year progresses.  Stay tuned.  Cheers.

~ by Captain Apathy on January 4, 2011.

3 Responses to “Miniatures Projects for 2011”

  1. Geez, you are going to be busy 🙂
    There are a lot more FUBAR supplements on the Forge of War Yahoo Group. This is the place where the FUBAR developers hang out and membership is free (though I do have to an approval to keep out spammers).
    So if you fancy Clone Wars, Hammer Slammers and a lot more come and have a gander.
    Cheers,
    Craig.

  2. You are approved and ready to FUBAR! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
