Fallout – NCR Rangers in Combat Armor

Another recent addition to my Fallout project, thanks to Jamie at Pictors Studio, is a platoon of NCR Rangers in combat armor.  The miniatures are 28mm plastics from Wargames Factory‘s Shock Troops line.  The platoon consists of one box of standard Shock Troops and one box of Heavy Weapons.  I must admit the process of assembling the standard Shock Troops was pretty straight forward.  However, the Heavy Weapons were a bit of a pain.

The miniatures below are an over strength platoon of Rangers from the New California Republic.  These guys made their appearance in Fallout: New Vegas and represent veteran troops from the NCR in their best combat armor.

There are other variations of the NCR Rangers to include troops in campaign hats.  For this project I decided to focus on the combat armor.  Below is a group shot.

This is the entire platoon, heavy weapons and all.  As you can see there are a number of heavy and support weapons represented.  This includes a mortar, flamethrowers, rocket launchers, grenade launchers, heavy lasers/plasma weapons, and heavy mahcine guns.

This is what an individual NCR Ranger in combat armor looks like in Fallout: New Vegas.

This is how the miniatures turned out.  Looks pretty damn good to me.

Of course you also need leadership.  This are the officers and NCOs.  The only miniature I really don’t care for is the one with the sword.  I suppose I could have made additional modifications, but I decided to go with what was in the Shock Troops kits.  I may modify him later, but for now he is fine.

Next up are the support weapons.  Two of each type of rocket launcher, grenade launcher and flame thrower.  I don’t recall there being any support weapons used by the NCR in Fallout: New Vegas, but I figured it couldn’t hurt.  Next up is the lone mortar.  Again, there wasn’t one in the game, but hey…

Finally, we have three support weapons.  I am quite happy with these.  The way the Heavy Weapons kit comes, you can only assemble three.  I decided to use several small magnets and nails.  I clipped the nails and mounted them to the tripod base and then put a magnet in the bottom of each weapon.  I can still only field three at a time, but at least I can mix and match as necessary.

Well, thats all I have for now.  I hope you enjoyed it.  Cheers.

~ by Captain Apathy on April 5, 2012.

6 Responses to “Fallout – NCR Rangers in Combat Armor”

  1. Looking good. The WF minis turned me on, but this is a marvelous use for them and they are a perfect match! Big thumbs up!

    • Thanks. I originally picked up the shock troops on a whim. It wasn’t until the heavy weapons set came out that I thought they would work for NCR Rangers.

  2. Look pretty great, man. Where do you play these bad boys?

  3. Those look great! I especially love the turret dude

    -M

    http://wreck-age.net

Leave a comment