Doctor Who – Robot – Episode 075

After a slight hiatus, it looks like I will be on a roll with Doctor Who miniatures for the near future.  First up is the first full episode of Doctor Who to feature Tom Baker as the Doctor.  Episode 075 Robot.  This a favorite of mine, not because it is particularly good, but because it is the very first Doctor Who I ever watched.  Thanks to PBS it was featured on Sunday afternoon while I was at home with nothing to do.  It has held a special place in my heart ever since.

Once I started collecting Doctor Who miniatures in the hopes of some day actually playing a game, I have had the idea of trying to recreate specific episodes.  Robot is one of them.  I picked up the Robot miniature in 28mm from Black Tree Design some time back, but I recently found a nice addition that adds to the fun.  Thanks to the Doctor Who action figures Classic Series Wave 1, and ebay, I was able to acquire a complete K1 Robot that stands approximately 6″ tall.  The first wave required you to purchased all eight action figures, each of whoich came with a part of the K1 Robot.  Once you had all eight, you had a Robot figure.  Nifty.  Thanks to ebay, I was able to acquire the Robot complete, without needing to pick up all eight figures.

Why is this important?  Well toward the end of the Robot series, the K1 Robot is shot by a disintegrator weapon that instead of destroying the robot, makes it grow very large.  Yeah, weird I know.  But, now I have both a “normal” size robot and large robot.  Nifty.  Take a look and see.  I have a FASA Fourth Doctor and Sarah Jane, as well as a Black Tree Design Robot and Brigadier.

The K1 Robot looks a little big compared to screencaps from the episode, but iti is close enough for me.

Granted, the large version of the Robot is only on screen for a few minutes, but who cares.  Cheers.

~ by Captain Apathy on September 1, 2012.

Leave a comment